We are unable to display your institutional affiliation without JavaScript turned on.
Browse Book and Journal Content on Project MUSE
OR

portal: Libraries and the Academy

Vol. 1 (2001) through current issue

Focusing on important research about the role of academic libraries and librarianship, portal also features commentary on issues in technology and publishing. Written for all those interested in the role of libraries within the academy, portal includes peer-reviewed articles addressing subjects such as library administration, information technology, and information policy. In its inaugural year, portal earned recognition as the runner-up for best new journal, awarded by the Council of Editors of Learned Journals (CELJ). An article in portal, "Master's and Doctoral Thesis Citations: Analysis and Trends of a Longitudinal Study," won the Jesse H. Shera Award for Distinguished Published Research from the Library Research Round Table of the American Library Association.

Published by: The Johns Hopkins University Press

Volume 15, 2015

Volume 14, 2014

Volume 13, 2013

Volume 12, 2012

Volume 11, 2011

Volume 10, 2010

Volume 9, 2009

Volume 8, 2008

Volume 7, 2007

Volume 6, 2006

Volume 5, 2005

Volume 4, 2004

Volume 3, 2003

Volume 2, 2002

Volume 1, 2001


E-ISSN: 1530-7131
Print ISSN: 1531-2542

Editorial Board

Volume 15, Number 3, July 2015

Editor

Marianne Ryan, Northwestern University, marianne-ryan@northwestern.edu

Editor Emeritus

Sarah M. Pritchard, Northwestern University, spritchard@northwestern.edu

Feature Editors

Global Perspectives

Beth Clausen, Northwestern Unviersity in Qatar, Doha, b-clausen@northwestern.edu

Reviews

Fred Rowland, Temple University, frowland@temple.edu

Managing Editor and Copy Editor

Sara Dreyfuss, portalmanagingeditor@gmail.com

Editorial Board

David Bawden, City University London, dbawden@soi.city.ac.uk

Steven J. Bell, Temple University, bells@temple.edu

Mary Casserly, State University of New York at Albany, mcasserly@albany.edu

Kathleen De Long, University of Alberta, Edmonton, kathleen.delong@ualberta.ca

Carol Pitts Diedrichs, The Ohio State University, Diedrichs.1@osu.edu

Donna L. Ferullo, Purdue University, ferullo@purdue.edu

Margaret A. Fry, Georgetown University, fry@georgetown.edu

Julie Garrison, Grand Valley State University, garrisoj@gvsu.edu

Damon E. Jaggars, Columbia University, djaggars@columbia.edu

Neal Kaske, nkaske@gmail.com

Ronald L. Larsen, University of Pittsburgh, rlarsen@mail.sis.pitt.edu

Joan K. Lippincott, Coalition for Networked Information, joan@cni.org

John Lombardi, Louisiana State University System, lombardi@lsu.edu

James M. Matarazzo, Simmons College, james.matarazzo@simmons.edu

Gillian M. McCombs, Southern Methodist University, gmccombs@mail.smu.edu

James G. Neal, jneal@columbia.edu

Carlen Ruschoff, University of Maryland, ruschoff@umd.edu

Brian E. C. Schottlaender, University of California, San Diego, becs@ucsd.edu

Susan Ellis Searing, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, searing@illinois.edu

Helen H. Spalding, Portland State University, spalding@pdx.edu

Mark E. Stover, California State University, Northridge, mark.stover@csun.edu

Karla L. Strieb, The Ohio State University, Strieb.2@osu.edu

Jack Sulzer, jsulzer@psu.edu

Thomas H. Teper, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, tteper@uiuc.edu

Mary Augusta Thomas, Smithsonian Institution Libraries, thomasm@si.edu

Scott W. Vine, Franklin & Marshall College, scott.vine@fandm.edu

William Walters, Manhattan College, william.walters@manhattan.edu

Sarah Watstein, University of North Carolina Wilmington, watsteins@uncw.edu

Janice Welburn, Marquette University, janice.welburn@marguette.edu

William Welburn, Marquette University, william.welburn@marquette.edu

James F. Williams II, University of Colorado, Boulder, james.williams@colorado.edu

Jerome Yavarkovsky, jeromey@bc.edu

Volume 15, Number 2, April 2015

Editor

Marianne Ryan, Northwestern University, marianne-ryan@northwestern.edu

Editor Emeritus

Sarah M. Pritchard, Northwestern University, spritchard@northwestern.edu

Feature Editors

Information Standards and Technology

Carlen Ruschoff, University of Maryland, ruschoff@umd.edu

Research: Theory and Applications

Neal Kaske, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Neal.Kaske@noaa.gov

Reviews

Fred Rowland, Temple University, frowland@temple.edu

Managing Editor and Copy Editor

Sara Dreyfuss, portalmanagingeditor@gmail.com

Editorial Board

David Bawden, City University London, dbawden@soi.city.ac.uk

Steven J. Bell, Temple University, bells@temple.edu

Mary Casserly, State University of New York at Albany, mcasserly@albany.edu

Deborah Dancik, Willamette University, ddancik@willamette.edu

Kathleen De Long, University of Alberta, Edmonton, kathleen.delong@ualberta.ca

Carol Pitts Diedrichs, The Ohio State University, Diedrichs.1@osu.edu

Elizabeth H. Dow, Louisiana State University, edow1@lsu.edu

Donna L. Ferullo, Purdue University, ferullo@purdue.edu

Margaret A. Fry, Georgetown University, fry@georgetown.edu

Julie Garrison, Grand Valley State University, garrisoj@gvsu.edu

Damon E. Jaggars, Columbia University, djaggars@columbia.edu

Ronald L. Larsen, University of Pittsburgh, rlarsen@mail.sis.pitt.edu

Joan K. Lippincott, Coalition for Networked Information, joan@cni.org

John Lombardi, Louisiana State University System, lombardi@lsu.edu

James M. Matarazzo, Simmons College, james.matarazzo@simmons.edu

Gillian M. McCombs, Southern Methodist University, gmccombs@mail.smu.edu

James G. Neal, Columbia University, jneal@columbia.edu

Brian E. C. Schottlaender, University of California, San Diego, becs@ucsd.edu

Susan Ellis Searing, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, searing@illinois.edu

Helen H. Spalding, Portland State University, spalding@pdx.edu

Mark E. Stover, California State University, Northridge, mark.stover@csun.edu

Karla L. Strieb, The Ohio State University, Strieb.2@osu.edu

Jack Sulzer, jsulzer@psu.edu

Thomas H. Teper, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, tteper@uiuc.edu

Mary Augusta Thomas, Smithsonian Institution Libraries, thomasm@si.edu

Scott W. Vine, Franklin & Marshall College, scott.vine@fandm.edu

William Walters, Manhattan College, william.walters@manhattan.edu

Sarah Watstein, University of North Carolina Wilmington, watsteins@uncw.edu

Janice Welburn, Marquette University, janice.welburn@marguette.edu

William Welburn, Marquette University, william.welburn@marquette.edu

James F. Williams II, University of Colorado, Boulder, james.williams@colorado.edu

Jerome Yavarkovsky, jeromey@bc.edu

Volume 15, Number 1, January 2015

Editor

Marianne Ryan, Northwestern University, marianne-ryan@northwestern.edu

Editor Emeritus

Sarah M. Pritchard, Northwestern University, spritchard@northwestern.edu

Feature Editors

Information Standards and Technology

Carlen Ruschoff, University of Maryland, ruschoff@umd.edu

Research: Theory and Applications

Neal Kaske, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Neal.Kaske@noaa.gov

Reviews

Fred Rowland, Temple University, frowland@temple.edu

Managing Editor and Copy Editor

Sara Dreyfuss, portalmanagingeditor@gmail.com

Editorial Board

David Bawden, City University London, dbawden@soi.city.ac.uk

Steven J. Bell, Temple University, bells@temple.edu

Mary Casserly, State University of New York at Albany, mcasserly@albany.edu

Deborah Dancik, Willamette University, ddancik@willamette.edu

Kathleen De Long, University of Alberta, Edmonton, kathleen.delong@ualberta.ca

Carol Pitts Diedrichs, The Ohio State University, Diedrichs.1@osu.edu

Elizabeth H. Dow, Louisiana State University, edow1@lsu.edu

Donna L. Ferullo, Purdue University, ferullo@purdue.edu

Margaret A. Fry, Georgetown University, fry@georgetown.edu

Julie Garrison, Grand Valley State University, garrisoj@gvsu.edu

Damon E. Jaggars, Columbia University, djaggars@columbia.edu

Ronald L. Larsen, University of Pittsburgh, rlarsen@mail.sis.pitt.edu

Joan K. Lippincott, Coalition for Networked Information, joan@cni.org

John Lombardi, Louisiana State University System, lombardi@lsu.edu

James M. Matarazzo, Simmons College, james.matarazzo@simmons.edu

Gillian M. McCombs, Southern Methodist University, gmccombs@mail.smu.edu

James G. Neal, Columbia University, jneal@columbia.edu

Brian E. C. Schottlaender, University of California, San Diego, becs@ucsd.edu

Susan Ellis Searing, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, searing@illinois.edu

Helen H. Spalding, Portland State University, spalding@pdx.edu

Mark E. Stover, California State University, Northridge, mark.stover@csun.edu

Karla L. Strieb, The Ohio State University, Strieb.2@osu.edu

Jack Sulzer, jsulzer@psu.edu

Thomas H. Teper, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, tteper@uiuc.edu

Mary Augusta Thomas, Smithsonian Institution Libraries, thomasm@si.edu

Scott W. Vine, Franklin & Marshall College, scott.vine@fandm.edu

William Walters, Manhattan College, william.walters@manhattan.edu

Sarah Watstein, University of North Carolina Wilmington, watsteins@uncw.edu

Janice Welburn, Marquette University, janice.welburn@marguette.edu

William Welburn, Marquette University, william.welburn@marquette.edu

James F. Williams II, University of Colorado, Boulder, james.williams@colorado.edu

Jerome Yavarkovsky, jeromey@bc.edu

Volume 14, Number 4, October 2014

Editor

Sarah M. Pritchard, Northwestern University, spritchard@northwestern.edu

Assistant Editor

Marianne Ryan, Northwestern University, marianne-ryan@northwestern.edu

Feature Editors

Information Standards and Technology

Carlen Ruschoff, University of Maryland, ruschoff@umd.edu

Research: Theory and Applications

Neal Kaske, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Neal.Kaske@noaa.gov

Reviews

Fred Rowland, Temple University, frowland@temple.edu

Managing Editor and Copy Editor

Sara Dreyfuss, portalmanagingeditor@gmail.com

Editorial Board

David Bawden, City University London, dbawden@soi.city.ac.uk

Steven J. Bell, Temple University, bells@temple.edu

Deborah Dancik, Willamette University, ddancik@willamette.edu

Carol Pitts Diedrichs, The Ohio State University, Diedrichs.1@osu.edu

Elizabeth H. Dow, Louisiana State University, edow1@lsu.edu

Damon E. Jaggars, Columbia University, djaggars@columbia.edu

Ronald L. Larsen, University of Pittsburgh, rlarsen@mail.sis.pitt.edu

Joan K. Lippincott, Coalition for Networked Information, joan@cni.org

John Lombardi, Louisiana State University System, lombardi@lsu.edu

James M. Matarazzo, Simmons College, james.matarazzo@simmons.edu

Gillian M. McCombs, Southern Methodist University, gmccombs@mail.smu.edu

James G. Neal, Columbia University, jneal@columbia.edu

Brian E. C. Schottlaender, University of California, San Diego, becs@ucsd.edu

Susan Ellis Searing, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, searing@illinois.edu

Helen H. Spalding, Portland State University, spalding@pdx.edu

Karla L. Strieb, The Ohio State University, Strieb.2@osu.edu

Jack Sulzer, jsulzer@psu.edu

Mary Augusta Thomas, Smithsonian Institution Libraries, thomasm@si.edu

Scott W. Vine, Franklin & Marshall College scott.vine@fandm.edu

William Walters, Manhattan College, william.walters@manhatten.edu

Janice Welburn, Marquette University, janice.welburn@marguette.edu

William Welburn, Marquette University, william.welburn@marquette.edu

James F. Williams II, University of Colorado, Boulder, james.williams@colorado.edu

Jerome Yavarkovsky, jeromey@bc.edu

Research Areas

Recommend

  • You have access to this content
  • Free sample
  • Open Access
  • Restricted Access