We are unable to display your institutional affiliation without JavaScript turned on.
Browse Book and Journal Content on Project MUSE

Population Review

Vol. 42 (2003) through current issue

Population Review, a peer review journal of sociological demography, publishes scholarly research that covers a broad range of social science disciplines, including demography, sociology, social anthropology, socio-environmental science, communication, and political science.

The journal emphasizes empirical research and strives to advance knowledge of the interrelationships between demography and sociology.

The editor welcomes submissions that combine theory with solid empirical research. Articles that are of general interest to population specialists are also desired.

International in scope, the journal's focus is not limited by geography. Submissions are encouraged from scholars in both the developing and developed world.

Population Review publishes original articles and book reviews. Content is published online immediately after acceptance.

Published by: Sociological Demography Press

Current Issue: Volume 54, Number 2, 2015

E-ISSN: 1549-0955
Print ISSN: 0032-471X

Editorial Board

Volume 54, Number 2, 2015


William Haller (Clemson University)

Associate Editor

Heili Pals (Texas A&M University)

Advisory Board

Neuma Aguiar (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil)

John B. Casterline (Ohio State University)

Jane Collins (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Thomas A. DiPrete (Columbia University)

Patricia Fernandez-Kelly (Princeton University)

Edward L. Fink (University of Maryland)

Archibald Haller (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

David O. Hansen (Ohio State University)

Saad Z. Nagi (Ohio State University)

Joseph Woelfel (University at Buffalo)

Meir Yaish (University of Haifa)

Volume 47, Number 2, 2008


Saad Z. Nagi (Ohio State University)

Saad Z. Nagi is professor emeritus in sociology at The Ohio State University and former director of the Social Research Center at the American University in Cairo. He is best known for his research on disability, heath care, child maltreatment, poverty, organizational decision-making, societal change and development, and sociology of science and research.
E-Mail: saadznagi@gmail.com

Scientific Review Board

Olaide Adedokun (Lagos State University, Nigeria),
Neuma Aguiar (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil),
Aris Ananta (ISEAS Singapore),
David B. Bills (University of Iowa),
Salete Cavalcanti (Federal University of Pernambuco, Brazil),
Barney Cohen (US National Academy of Sciences),
Jane Collins (University of Wisconsin),
Jose Drummond (University of Brasilia, Brazil),
Bertil Egero (Lund University, Sweden),
Mariah Evans (University of Nevada, Reno),
Danielle Cireno Fernandes (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil),
Edward L. Fink (University of Maryland),
Gebrenegus Ghilagaber (Stockholm University, Sweden),
David O. Hansen (Ohio State University),
Graeme Hugo (University of Adelaide),
Ulla Larsen (Harvard University),
Enrico A. Marcelli (San Diego State University),
Letizia Mencarini (University of Florence, Italy),
Harsha Mookherjee (Tennessee Technical College),
Jorge A. Neves (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil),
Yoshitaka Okada (Sophia University-Japan and Max Planck Institute-Cologne),
Felicia Oyekanmi (University of Lagos, Nigeria),
Heili Pals (University of Central Florida),
Jose Pastore (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil),
Adela Pellegrino (Universidad de la República, Uruguay),
Alejandro Portes (Princeton University),
Ubaidur Rob (Population Council, Bangladesh),
Vicente Rodriguez (Instituto de Economía y Geografía Pinar, España),
A. K. Sharma (Indian Institute of Technology at Kanpur, India),
Vijai P. Singh (University of Pittsburgh),
Ibrahim Sirkeci (European Business School, London),
Guy Stecklov (Hebrew University, Israel),
A. Subbiah (Annamalai University, India),
Vrijesh Tripathi (The University of the West Indies),
Shu-Ling Tsai (Academia Sinica, Taiwan),
Ricardo Vernon (INSAD, Mexico),
Joseph Woelfel (The University at Buffalo)

Administrative Officer (Business Affairs)

J. Roberts

Volume 47, Number 1, 2008


Archibald O. Haller

Associate Editor

Mariah Evans

Scientific Review Board

Alejandro Portes
Joseph Woelfel
Vijai P. Singh
A. K. Sharma
Adela Pellegrino
Graeme Hugo
Harsha Mookherjee
Ibrahim Sirkeci
Jane Collins
Salete Cavalcanti
Jose Drummond
Olaide Adedokun
Vicente Rodriguez
Bertil Egero
Enrico A. Marcelli
Gebrenegus Ghilagaber
Yoshitaka Okada
Ubaidur Rob
Felicia Oyekanmi
Barney Cohen
Letizia Mencarini
A. Subbiah
Aris Ananta
Heili Pals
Jorge A. Neves
Danielle Cireno Fernandes
Neuma Aguiar
Ulla Larsen
Prem C. Saxena
David B. Bills
Shu-Ling Tsai
Edward L. Fink
Ricardo Vernon
Guy Stecklov
Saad Nagi
Jose Pastore
David O. Hansen

Research Areas


  • You have access to this content
  • Free sample
  • Open Access
  • Restricted Access