ARJEN BAKKER, University of Groningen ELIZABETH BOASE, University of Divinity, Melbourne School THEODORE W. BURGH, University of North Carolina Wilmington DEXTER E. CALLENDER JR., University of Miami STEPHEN C. CARLSON, Institute for Religion and Critical Inquiry, Australian Catholic University DAVID MCLAIN CARR, Union Theological Seminary JAMIE DAVIES, Trinity College, Bristol (UK) CAROL J. DEMPSEY, OP, University of Portland MATTHEW GOFF, Florida State University MARK GOODACRE, Duke University Seminary ALLISON L. GRAY, St. Mary's University, San Antonio RHIANNON GRAYBILL, University of Richmond JENNIE GRILLO, University of Notre Dame JUAN HERNÁNDEZ JR., Bethel University Tübingen J. THOMAS HEWITT, University of Aberdeen JACQUELINE M. HIDALGO, University of San Diego JOHN S. KLOPPENBORG, University of Toronto Negev PHILLIP M. LASATER, University of Oxford DOROTHY ANN LEE, Trinity College, University of Divinity Argentina DAVID LINCICUM, University of Notre Dame SUNG UK LIM, Yonsei University YII-JAN LIN, Yale Divinity School FRANCISCO LOZADA, Christian Theological Seminary JOSEPH A. MARCHAL, Ball State University MADIPOANE MASENYA (NGWAN'A and Ministry MPHAHLELE), University of South Africa CHRISTINE MITCHELL, Knox College, Toronto School of Theology NOAM MIZRAHI, Hebrew University of Jerusalem School DAVID M. MOFFITT, University of St Andrews LAUREN MONROE, Cornell University

ALICIA D. MYERS, Campbell University Divinity BRENT NONGBRI, MF Norwegian School of Theology, Religion, and Society LIDIJA NOVAKOVIC, Baylor University MATTHEW V. NOVENSON, University of Edinburgh SONG-MI SUZIE PARK, Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary MLADEN POPOVIĆ, University of Groningen DALIT ROM-SHILONI, Tel Aviv University KIMBERLY D. RUSSAW, Pittsburgh Theological RODNEY S. SADLER JR., Union Presbyterian Seminary ALISON SALVESEN, University of Oxford HARALD SAMUEL, Eberhard-Karls-Universität ELIZABETH E. SHIVELY, Baylor University CHRISTIAN STADEL, Ben-Gurion University of the OLIVIA STEWART LESTER, Loyola University Chicago JUAN MANUEL TEBES, Catholic University of EIBERT TIGCHELAAR, KU Leuven JACQUELINE VAYNTRUB, Yale Divinity School LILY C. VUONG, Central Washington University CECILIA WASSEN, Uppsala University JAIME L. WATERS, Boston College School of Theology KRISTIN WEINGART, University of Munich GERALD OAKLEY WEST, University of KwaZulu-Natal BRITTANY E. WILSON, Duke University Divinity JAKOB WÖHRLE, University of Tübingen PHILIP YOO, University of British Columbia

Managing Editor: Jonathan M. Potter, Society of Biblical Literature Editorial Assistants: Alexis Reed, Society of Biblical Literature Asia M. Lerner-Gay, Society of Biblical Literature

EDITORIAL MATTERS OF THE JBL

- 1. Prospective contributors should first review the *JBL* submission guidelines available at https:// jbl.scholasticahq.com/for-authors. If a manuscript is submitted in a form that departs in major ways from these instructions, it may be returned to the author for revision prior to being considered for publication.
- 2. Manuscripts may be submitted using our online platform at https://jbl.scholasticahq.com
- 3. Communications regarding the *Journal* should be addressed to Susan E. Hylen at susan.hylen@emory .edu.
- Permission to quote more than 500 words may be requested from the Rights and Permissions Department, Society of Biblical Literature, 825 Houston Mill Road, Suite 350, Atlanta, GA 30329, USA (E-mail: sblpressp@sbl-site.org). Please specify volume, year, and inclusive page numbers.

BUSINESS MATTERS OF THE SBL

(not handled by the editors of the Journal)

- 1. All correspondence regarding membership in the Society, subscriptions to the *Journal*, change of address, renewals, missing or defective issues of the *Journal*, and inquiries about other publications of the Society should be addressed to Society of Biblical Literature, Customer Service Department, 825 Houston Mill Road, Atlanta, GA 30329. Phone: 866-727-9955 (toll-free) or 404-727-9498. E-mail: sblservices@sbl-site.org.
- All correspondence concerning the research and publications programs, the Annual Meeting of the Society, and other business should be addressed to the Executive Director, Society of Biblical Literature, The Luce Center, 825 Houston Mill Road, Atlanta, GA 30329. (E-mail: sblexec@sbl-site.org)
- 3. Second Class postage paid at Atlanta, Georgia, and at additional mailing offices.