Irish Studies in International Affairs published by the Royal Irish Academy

In 1977 the Council of the Royal Irish Academy approved the formation of a National Committee to be concerned with the study of international affairs. The purpose of this Committee was to create a forum in which those interested could study and discuss important questions relating to Irish participation in international affairs. Following the reorganisation of the Academy's multidisciplinary committee structure in 2014, the Standing Committee for International Affairs was convened under the Social Sciences Committee, to oversee the publication and review of Irish Studies in International Affairs and connected activities. The Standing Committee is representative of academic and government organisations. Published annually since 1979, Irish Studies in International Affairs has established itself as a primary outlet for scholarly papers relating to Irish foreign policy and Ireland's role in international affairs. The journal contains contributed articles, review essays and a selection of papers focused on an issue of international affairs of topical interest.

Standing Committee and Advisory Committee for International Affairs and Editorial Board for *Irish Studies in International Affairs*

Pádraig Carmody, Trinity College Dublin Colin Caughy, University of Galway

Damien Cole, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Cath Collins, Ulster University

John Doyle, Dublin City University (Editor)

Suzanne Egan, University College Dublin

Ekaterina Yahyaoui Krivenko, University of Galway

Kirstin Lemon, Geological Survey of Northern Ireland

Emma Madigan, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Rory Montgomery, former Irish diplomat

John Morrissey, University of Galway

Una Murray, University of Galway

Mervyn O'Driscoll, University College Cork (Editor)

Kevin O'Sullivan, University of Galway

Kiri Paramore, University College Cork

Iulia Siedschlag, Economic and Social Research Institute

Ben Tonra, University College Dublin

Colin Wrafter, formerly Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

International Advisory Board

Professor Federica Bicchi, Department of International Relations, London School of Economics Professor Michael Cox, Department of International Relations, London School of Economics Professor Patricia Clavin, Professor of International History, Jesus College, Oxford University

Professor Christophe Gillissen, L'Université Paris-Sorbonne, Paris

Professor Zafar Jaspal, Quaid i Azam University, Islamabad

Professor Fiona de Londras, Durham Law School, Durham University

Professor John McGarry, Queen's University, Ontario

Professor Niamh Nic Shuibhne, School of Law, University of Edinburgh

Professor Brendan O'Leary, Lauder Professor of Political Science, University of Pennsylvania

Professor Anjoo Sharan Upadhyaya, Department of Political Science, Banaras Hindu

University, Varanasi

Professor Jon Tonge, Department of Politics, University of Liverpool

Professor Priyankar Upadhyaya, UNESCO Chair for Peace, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

Professor Tim White, Department of Political Science, Xavier University, Ohio

Instructions for authors and subscription details may be found on the inside back cover. Contents of recent issues of *Irish Studies in International Affairs* can be found on the Royal Irish Academy web site at https://www.ria.ie/irish-studies-international-affairs. Any views expressed in the articles in this journal are those of the individual authors.