In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

523 Main Actors [Unless otherwise noted, positions listed for each person are those held during the 1980–1981 period.] Allen, Richard V.: National security advisor to President Ronald Reagan from 1981– 1982. Andropov, Yurii Vladimirovich: chairman of KGB; member of CPSU Politburo; member of Politburo Commission on Poland. Aristov, Boris Ivanovich: Soviet ambassador to Poland. Arkhipov, Ivan Vasil’evich: member of CPSU CC; first deputy prime minister; member of CPSU CC Politburo’s Commission on Poland. Baibakov, Nikolai Konstantinovich: member of CPSU CC; deputy prime minister; chairman of Gosplan. Barcikowski, Kazimierz: Member of PUWP CC; deputy Politburo member until September 1980, then full member; from October 1980, secretary of PUWP CC. Bartoszcze, Roman: member of the United Peasant’s Party until December 1981; activist in Rural Solidarity; participant in the Bydgoszcz strike in March 1981; interned during martial law. Beksiak, Janusz: economic adviser to Gierek until 1979; from September 1980, member and adviser to Solidarity; in 1981, member of the Programmatic-Consultative Center for Social-Occupational Works attached to the National Commission of Solidarity. Berlinguer, Enrico: national secretary of the Italian Communist Party. Borusewicz, Bogdan: member of KOR; among the leadership of the August 1980 strike at Lenin Shipyard in Gdańsk; subsequently on the Inter-Factory Founding Committee of Solidarity in the Gdańsk Region; during martial law, member of underground Solidarity leadership. Brezhnev, Leonid Ilyich: general secretary of the CPSU from October 1964–November 1982. Brown, Harold: U.S. secretary of defense until January 1981. Brzezinski, Zbigniew: national security advisor to President Carter from 1977–1981. Bugaj, Ryszard: leading member of Mazowsze branch of Solidarity; interned on December 13, 1981. Bujak, Zbigniew: organizer of the strike in Solidarity with the Lenin Shipyard at the “Ursus ” factory in August 1980; from September 1980, chairman of Mazowsze branch of Solidarity; member of the Presidium of National Coordinating Commission; went underground on December 13, 1981 to act as the head of the Regional Executive Commission in the Mazowsze Region; arrested in May 1986. Carter, Jimmy: president of the United States from 1977–1981. Ceauşescu, Nicolae: president of Romania from 1974–1989; general (then first) secretary of the Romanian Communist Party from 1965–1989. Celiński, Andrzej: member of KOR; secretary of the Presidium of Inter-Factory Strike Committee in Gdańsk; subsequently secretary of the Presidium of National Conciliation Committee for Solidarity; interned in the martial law period. Chernenko, Konstantin Ustinovich: member of CPSU Politburo; CPSU CC Secretary; chief, General Department, CC CPSU; member of Politburo Commission on Poland. Christopher, Warren W.: deputy secretary of state until January 1981. 524 Ciosek, Stanisław: member of PUWP CC from February 1980 to July 1981; regional PUWP first secretary from 1975–1980; minister-member of the Council of Ministers in charge of contacts with trade unions from 1980–1985. Cypryniak, Kazimierz: first secretary of Szczecin Voivodeship Committee from May 1980 to May 1981; from April–July 1981, member of PUWP CC; head of the Political -Organizational Department of PUWP CC from 1981. Czyrek, Józef: minister of foreign affairs from August 1980–July 1982; from February 1980, member of PUWP CC; from July 1981, secretary PUWP CC; from July 1981, member of PUWP Politburo. Dąbrowski, Archbishop Bronisław: general secretary of the Episcopate of Poland; chairman of the Legal Commission of the Episcopate; delegate of the Conference of the Episcopate of Poland for relations with the government of the Polish People’s Republic . Demichev, Pyotr Nilovich: Soviet minister of culture; candidate member of CPSU Politburo . Dobrynin, Anatoly: Soviet ambassador to the United States. Dolgikh, Vladimir Ivanovich: secretary of CPSU CC; chief, CPSU CC Department of Heavy Industry. Eagleburger, Lawrence S.: U.S. ambassador to Yugoslavia until January 1981; assistant secretary of state for European and Canadian affairs from May 1981–February 1982. Fiszbach, Tadeusz: first secretary of PUWP Voivodeship Committee in Gdańsk; signatory of the Gdańsk Agreement; from December 1980–July 1981, member of PUWP Politburo . Frasyniuk, Władysław: co-organizer of the strike in Wrocław in August 1980; member of Inter-Factory Founding Committee of the Lower Silesia Region; from February 1981, Solidarity chairman of the Lower Silesia Region, member of the National Coordinating Commission and National Commission Presidium; from December 13, 1981, underground chairman of the Regional Strike Committee of the Lower Silesia Region. Geremek, Bronisław: adviser to the Inter-Factory Strike Committee at the Lenin Shipyard , August 1980; adviser to National Coordinating Commission; chairman of the Programmatic-Consultative Council of Solidarity’s National...


Additional Information

Related ISBN
MARC Record
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.