In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

Acknowledgments The OpenNet Initiative would not exist without the vital contributions of dozens of very talented and often courageous researchers from around the world. Jacqueline Larson provided invaluable editorial input for the entire book. The authorship and editing of the country profiles were led by Marianne Lau (Citizen Lab), Adam Senft (Citizen Lab), and Jillian York (Berkman Center). Other written contributions were made by Roxana Farahmand (Pakistan), Lindsey Massar, Guangye He (China), Rebekah Heacock, Yu Ri Jeong (South Korea), Arnav Manchanda (China), Pirongrong Ramasoota (Thailand), James Tay (China), and Vee Vian Thien (Malaysia). Masashi Crete-Nishihata (Citizen Lab), Robert Faris (Berkman Center), James Tay (Citizen Lab), and Jillian York (Berkman Center) help to manage the ONI research enterprise on an ongoing basis. Their professional stewardship keeps the ONI on track. The ONI software development team is led by Clayton Epp (Citizen Lab), Elias Adum (Citizen Lab), and Eran Henig (Citizen Lab). Jonathan Doda (Citizen Lab) acted as the lead technical engineer and analyst for the ONI in 2008 and 2009. Shishir Nagaraja (Cambridge University) did the same in 2007. Jane Gowan (Citizen Lab) designed the cover art for Access Contested and provided additional design input to the ONI project. ONI regional deputies Helmi Noman (Middle East and North Africa) and Stephanie Wang (Asia, 2007–2009) coordinated field research across their respective regions. The ONI would like to acknowledge the invaluable contributions of the Secdev Group in implementing the OpenNet Asia project, together with the resulting contributions that went into this volume from the regional coordinators, Francois Fortier and Al Alegre, the project manager Deirdre Collings, and research assistants Arnav Manchanda and Antoine Nouvet as well as the entire OpenNet Asia project team. The ONI is grateful to all members of OpenNet Eurasia, in particular the regional coordinator Tattugul Mambetalieva. The ONI is also grateful to the University of Amsterdam Digital Methods Team, especially Professor Richard Rogers, Erik Borra, Esther Weltevrede , and Anat Ben-David, for participating in the ONI’s April 2009 analysis workshop at the Citizen Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto. viii Acknowledgments The ONI is grateful to MIT Press: William Drake, Ernest Wilson III, and Marguerite Avery. The Citizen Lab would like to thank Catherine Antoine and the RFA team, Ramtin Amin, Kristen Batch, Carolina Botero, Larid Brown, Jessica Daggers, Jakub Dalek, Neil Desai, Luis Carlos Díaz, Victor Elvino, Sahar Golshan, Robert Guerra, Seth Hardy, Gus Hosein, Andrés Izquierdo, Vanessa Johan, Dylan Jones, Andrej Karpathy, Elana Koren, Lucinda Li, Daniel Lister, Jamie Liu, Rishi Maharaj, Isaac Mao, Margaret McKone, Miriam McTiernan, David Naylor, Kay Nguyen, Palantir Technologies, Ginger Paque, Wilhelmina Peter, Anna Postelnyak, Psiphon Inc., Xiao Qiang, Juliana Rincón, Ewald Scharfenberg, Anand Sharma, Sunil Shrestha, Janice Stein, Jamie Uhrig, Jeremy Vernon, Nart Villeneuve, Chris Walker, Greg Walton, Sean Willet, Peter Wills, and Greg Wiseman. The Berkman Center for Internet and Society would like to thank Renata Avila, Ellery Biddle, Catherine Bracy, Rafik Dammak, Zsuzsa Detrekoi, Alexey Dolinskiy, Alex Fayette, Eric Fish, Effi Fuks, Urs Gasser, Cickek Gurkan, Sarah Hamdi, Sanjana Hattotuwa, Eric Johnson, Ismael Kathtan, Mohamed Keita, Colin Maclay, Katitza Rodriguez Pereda, Anas Qtiesh, Daniel Rosenberg, Amin Sabeti, Zinta Saulkalns, Gbenga Sesan, Chris Soghoian, Shiham Thabreez, Firuzeh Shookoh Valle, Seth Young, and Ethan Zuckerman. The Secdev Group would like to thank the Eurasia I-Policy Network, and Psiphon Inc., Emin Akhundov, Asommadin Atoev, Ali Bangi, Alexsei Bebinov, Alexandra Belyaeva , Vadim Dryganov, Moses Hakobyan, Alexsei Marciouc, Lindsey Massar, Maksat Sabyrov, Nick Shchetko, Zviad Sulaberidze, Nart Villeneuve, and Yury Zisser. The ONI is very grateful for support from the following institutions: The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, The International Development Research Centre (Canada), The Canada Centre for Global Security Studies, and the Donner Canada Foundation. Production of this volume was made possible through the generous support of the International Development Research Centre. The ONI would like to especially thank Laurent Elder (IDRC), Phet Sayo (IDRC), and Kathleen Flynn-Dapah (IDRC) for their support and encouragement of OpenNet Asia and this volume. The ONI would like to specially acknowledge numerous researchers and contributors to our research and other activities who have chosen to remain anonymous. We dedicate this volume to their courage. ...


Additional Information

Print ISBN
MARC Record
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.