In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

538 J Hanley Jackson (1939– ) USA Jackson taught at Kansas State University, where he founded the institution’s Electronic Music Studio. Tangents 1973 (SP 1974) 11pp. 41/2 min. For piano and prerecorded tape. The piano score notates tape sounds. Tape, which contains both electronic and piano sounds, is in two versions: tape part by itself, tape in a performance with Margaret Walker, pianist. Divided sections: Very slow—Slow—Rhythmic. Colorful, rhythmic, octotonic, pointillistic. M-D. Maurice Jacobson (1896–1976) England Carousal (Lengnick 1946) 16pp. A colorful tone poem. Freely tonal. Highly attractive Alla Musette midsection. M-D. Romantic Theme and Variations (Lengnick 1946) 18pp. Theme dates from 1910, variations from 1944. Six well-constructed and developed variations that have a mildly twentieth-century flavor reminiscent of Rachmaninoff. Effective . M-D. Elisabeth-Claude Jacquet de La Guerre (1665–1729) France Perhaps the most successful female French composer of all time, Jacquet de La Guerre published two books of Pièces de Clavecin in 1687 and 1707. Her remarkable skill as a harpsichordist was well known in France during her lifetime. The Collected Works, Vol. 1: Harpsichord Works (A. Lawrence—Broude 2008) 135pp. Contains the six suites constituting both books of Pièces de Clavecin. Premier Livre (1687): [Suites in] d, g, a, F. Pièces de Clavecin qui peuvent se Joüer sur le Viollon (1707): [Suites in] d, G. All six suites contain the now standard A, C, S, G, plus, selectively, Preludes, Cannaris, Chaconnes, Menuets , a Tocade, Rigaudons, and a Rondeau. This collection brings together all the known keyboard works by Jacquet for the first time. A biographical essay by Mary Cyr, an introduction, editorial policies, and critical apparatus are included. Int. to M-D. Pièces de Clavecin 1707 (Brunold, Dart—l’OL 1956; C. Gates—Heugel 1986). Twelve rich dance pieces of austere dignity and intricate detail showing an awareness of some contemporaneous Italian keyboard techniques. All have individual interest. Int. to M-D. See: Edith Borroff, An Introduction to Elisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre (Brooklyn, NY: Institute of Mediaeval Music, 1966). Mary Cyr, “Elisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre: Myth or Marvel? Seeking the Composer ’s Individuality,” MT 149/1905 (Winter 2008): 79–87. Janáček   539 Marie Jaëll (1846–1925) France Jaëll studied with Moscheles in Stuttgart; Herz, Franck, and Saint-Saëns in Paris; and Liszt in Weimar. In 1893, in Paris, she was the first to play all thirty-two of Beethoven’s sonatas in a series. Piano Sonata (L. Schmidt-Rogers—Hildegard). Dedicated to Liszt. Essentially written in Romantic style, this work shows that Jaëll was familiar with the most recent compositional thinking of her day. M-D to D. Pascale Jakubowski (1960– ) France, born Algeria Huit Petites Pièces ca.1995 (Billaudot 2003) 15pp. 13 min. Eight fascinating little pieces cast in late twentieth-century compositional styles, inspired by a lecture on letters by Friedrich Nietzsche written between 1885 and 1888 and the philosophy of the artist Jean-Paul Thibeau. Réverbération; Les Oiseaux; La Danse; Les Gros traits et le marteau ou le pître; Vers la dépersonnalisation ; La Dématerialisation; La Disparition. Int. to M-D. Agi Jambor (1909–1997) USA, born Hungary Sonata (Hildegard 1997) 22pp. Allegro appassionata; Epitaph-Andante teneremente ; Allegro. Full of tension throughout. M-D. Leoš Janáček (1854–1928) Czech Republic Janáček’s study of his native Moravian folk music formed the character of all his thematic invention. His music skillfully integrates folk materials into valid artistic entities. The piano works are refreshingly far from the gigantism of much of the piano writing of their time. Compositions for Piano, 2nd ed. (L. Kundera, J. Burghauser—Supraphon, 1989) 114pp. Extracted from the Complete Critical Edition of the Works of Leoš Janáček. Preface in Czech, German, English, French, and Russian. Critical note in Czech and Russian. Includes an essay on the origin of the works in English, Czech, and German. Variations for Zedenka, Op.1; 3 Moravian Dances; X. 1905; On an Overgrown Path I, II; In the Mist; A Recollection. These pieces follow the poetic tradition of Schumann more than the Liszt or Chopin tradition. Klavierwerke (M. Barvík, R. Zimmermann—CFP 13430 1987) 84pp. Includes Tema con variazioni (Zdenka Variations); On an Overgrown Path; Sonata No.1; In the Fog [Mist]; fragments of On an Overgrown Path; In Remembrance ; Memory. Concluding remarks, notes on interpretation, and editor ’s notes in German, Moravian, and English. Zedenka Variations Op...


Additional Information

Related ISBN
MARC Record
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.