We cannot verify your location
Browse Book and Journal Content on Project MUSE

Flowering Plants

Willows to Mustards

Robert H. Mohlenbrock

Publication Year: 1980

This eighth volume in the comprehen­sive Illustrated Flora of Illinois series is the seventh volume devoted to flowering plants (the eighth volume is devoted to ferns) and the second treating dicotyledons, which include such well-known plants as roses, peas, mustards, mints, nightshades, milkweeds, and asters. The previous volume on dicots, Flower­ing Plants: Hollies to Loasas, was pub­lished in 1978.


In the present volume, Mohlenbrock includes three orders of vascular plants encompassing five families. The orders are Salicales and Tamaricales, of the Salicaceae and Tamaricaceae families, and Capparidales, of the Capparidaceae, Re­sedaceae, and Brassicaceae families. In all, 44 genera and 117 species are treat­ed in this volume, each species illustrat­ed in detail.

Published by: Southern Illinois University Press

Title Page, Copyright Page

pdf iconDownload PDF (69.0 KB)


pdf iconDownload PDF (105.6 KB)
pp. ix

read more


pdf iconDownload PDF (34.8 KB)
pp. xiii

Since its conception in 1960, eight volumes of The Illustrated Flora of Illinois have been published. They include the volume on ferns and seven on flowering plants. Of these seven, five have been devoted to monocotyledonous plants and one thus far to dicotyledonous plants. This is the second volume treating...

County Map of Illinois

pdf iconDownload PDF (14.9 KB)

read more


pdf iconDownload PDF (145.5 KB)
pp. 1-5

All flowering plants may be divided into two great groups, the monocotyledons, or monocots, and the dicotyledons, or dicots. Monocots are plants which produce a single leaf, called a seed leaf, when the seeds first germinate. Dicots, on the other hand, are plants which give rise to a pair of seed...

read more

Descriptions and Illustrations

pdf iconDownload PDF (9.2 MB)
pp. 6-267

The Salicales includes only the family Salicaceae. In the Thorne system of classification (1968), the Salicales is one of four orders comprising the superorder Cistiflorae. The other orders are the Cistales, Tamaricales, and Capparidales. Cronquist (1968) accords similar treatment, but recognizes the name Violales...

Species and Varieties Excluded

pdf iconDownload PDF (59.9 KB)
pp. 268-269

Summary of the Taxa Treated in This Volume

pdf iconDownload PDF (8.9 KB)
pp. 270


pdf iconDownload PDF (130.3 KB)
pp. 273-276

Literature Cited

pdf iconDownload PDF (96.5 KB)
pp. 277-279

Index of Plant Names

pdf iconDownload PDF (142.7 KB)
pp. 281-286

Back Cover

pdf iconDownload PDF (129.5 KB)

E-ISBN-13: 9780809380138
Print-ISBN-13: 9780809309221

Page Count: 304
Publication Year: 1980