In this Book

After Tears
summary

 Bafana Kuzwayo is a young man with a weight on his shoulders. After flunking his law studies at the University of Cape Town, he returns home to Soweto, where he must decide how to break the news to his family. But before he can confess, he is greeted as a hero by family and friends. His uncle calls him “Advo,” short for Advocate, and his mother wastes no time recruiting him to solve their legal problems. In a community that thrives on imagined realities, Bafana decides that it’s easiest to create a lie that allows him to put off the truth indefinitely. Soon he’s in business with Yomi, a Nigerian friend who promises to help him solve all his problems by purchasing a fake graduation document. One lie leads to another as Bafana navigates through a world that readers will find both funny and grim.

Table of Contents

  1. Cover
  2. restricted access Download |
  1. Title Page
  2. restricted access Download |
  1. Copyright
  2. restricted access Download |
  1. Dedication
  2. restricted access Download |
  1. One: November 22, 1999
  2. pp. 1-4
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Two: Tuesday, November 23
  2. pp. 5-12
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Three: Wednesday, November 24, Soweto
  2. pp. 13-18
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Four: Thursday, November 25
  2. pp. 19-25
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Five: Tuesday, November 30
  2. pp. 26-32
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Six: Wednesday, December 1
  2. pp. 33-39
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Seven: Thursday, December 2
  2. pp. 40-48
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Eight: Friday, December 3
  2. pp. 49-56
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Nine: Saturday, December 4
  2. pp. 57-63
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Ten: Monday, December 13
  2. pp. 64-75
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Eleven: Friday, December 17
  2. pp. 76-83
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Twelve: Saturday, December 18
  2. pp. 84-92
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Thirteen: Saturday, December 25
  2. pp. 93-102
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Fourteen: Sunday, December 26
  2. pp. 103-110
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Fifteen: Friday, December 31
  2. pp. 111-117
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Sixteen: Wednesday, January 5, 2000
  2. pp. 118-126
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Seventeen: Tuesday, January 11
  2. pp. 127-129
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Eighteen: Wednesday, January 12
  2. pp. 130-131
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Nineteen: Thursday, January 13
  2. pp. 132-141
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Twenty: Friday, January 14
  2. pp. 142-147
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Twenty-One: Monday, January 24
  2. pp. 148-156
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Twenty-Two: Monday, January 31
  2. pp. 157-161
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Twenty-Three: Tuesday, February 1
  2. pp. 162-167
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Twenty-Four: Monday, February 14
  2. pp. 168-179
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Twenty-Five: Tuesday, February 15
  2. pp. 180-183
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Twenty-Six: Sunday, February 20
  2. pp. 184-200
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Twenty-Seven: Tuesday, February 29
  2. pp. 201-205
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Twenty-Eight: Friday, March 3
  2. pp. 206-209
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Twenty-Nine: Tuesday, May 9
  2. pp. 210-212
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Glossary
  2. pp. 213-216
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Acknowledgements
  2. pp. 217-218
  3. restricted access Download |
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.