We cannot verify your location
Browse Book and Journal Content on Project MUSE



Robert H. Mohlenbrock

Publication Year: 2005

The first in a series of four illustrated guides to identifying aquatic and standing water plants in the central Midwest, this convenient reference volume covers the 183 species of Cyperaceae. Robert H. Mohlenbrock includes three types of plants: submergents, those that spend their entire lives with their vegetative parts either completely submerged or at least floating on the water’s surface; emergents, which are typically rooted underwater with their vegetative parts standing out of water; and a third category of plants that live most of their lives out of water, but which may live in water at least three months a year.

Mohlenbrock provides descriptions, illustrations, and ways to identify any plant in the sedge family (Cyperaceae) in the states of Kentucky (except for the Cumberland region), Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, and Nebraska. With taxa arranged alphabetically, the volume is well organized and easy to use. In addition, basic synonymy, description, distribution, comments, and line drawings that show the habits and distinguishing features for each plant. Habitat and nomenclatural notes are also listed, as are the official wetland designations given by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Cyperaceae is a useful standard reference for state and federal employees who deal with aquatic and wetland plants and environmental conservation and mitigation issues and an essential guide for students and instructors in college and university courses where the identification of aquatic and wetland plants is emphasized.

Published by: Southern Illinois University Press


pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. c-i

Books in the Aquatic and Standing Water Plants of the Central Midwest Series

pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. ii-ii

Book Title

pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. iii-iii


pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. iv-vi


pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. vii-viii

List of Illustrations

pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. ix-x

read more

Series Preface

pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. xi-xiii

The purpose of the four books in the Aquatic and Standing Water Plants of the Central Midwest series is to provide illustrated guides to plants of the central Midwest that may live at least three months a year in water, though a particular plant may not necessarily live in standing water during a given year. The states covered by these guides include Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, and...

Map of the Central Midwest

pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. xiv-xiv

Descriptions and Illustrations

pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. 1-260


pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. 261-264

Illustration Credits

pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. 265-266

Index to Genera and Species

pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. 267-270

Index to Common Names

pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. 271-272

Author Biography

pdf iconDownload PDF

pp. 273-273

E-ISBN-13: 9780809332274
Print-ISBN-13: 9780809326280

Page Count: 288
Publication Year: 2005

OCLC Number: 808372298
MUSE Marc Record: Download for Cyperaceae