In this Book

Hegel on Hamann
buy this book Buy This Book in Print
summary

In 1828, G. W. F. Hegel published a critical review of Johann George Hamann, a retrospective of the life and works of one of Germany's most enigmatic and challenging thinkers and writers. While Hegel's review had enjoyed a central place in Hamann studies since its appearance, Hegel on Hamann is the first English translation of the important work. Philosophers, theologians, and literary critics welcome Anderson's stunning translation since Hamann is gaining renewed attention, not only as a key figure of German intellectual history, but also as an early forerunner of postmodern thought. Relationships between Enlightenment, Counter Enlightenment, and Idealism come to the fore as Hegel reflects on Hamann's critiques of his contemporaries Immanuel Kant, Moses Mendelssohn, J. G. Herder, and F. H. Jacobi. Hegel on Hamann also includes an introduction to Hegel's review, as well as an essay on the role of friendship in Hamann's life, in Hegel's thought, and in German intellectual culture more broadly. Rounding out the volume are its extensive annotations and bibliography, which facilitate further study of eighteenth- and nineteenth-century philosophy in English and German. This book is essential both for readers of Hegel or Hamann and for those interested in the history of German thought, the philosophy of religion, language and hermeneutics, or friendship as a philosophical category.

Table of Contents

  1. Cover
  2. restricted access Download |
  1. Title Page, Copyright, Dedication
  2. restricted access Download |
  1. Contents
  2. pp. vii-viii
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Note on the Text
  2. pp. ix-x
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Acknowledgments
  2. pp. xi-xii
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Introduction
  2. pp. xiii-xx
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. The Notion of Friendship in Hegel and Hamann
  2. pp. xxi-xlii
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. The Writings of Hamann by G. W. F. Hegel
  2. pp. 1-54
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Appendix: Hegel’s Notebook Entries on Hamann
  2. pp. 55-56
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Translator’s Notes
  2. pp. 57-78
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Selected Bibliography
  2. pp. 79-84
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. Index
  2. pp. 85-88
  3. restricted access Download |
  1. About the Author
  2. restricted access Download |
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.