In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Historical News and Notices


The eighty-fifth annual meeting of the Southern Historical Association will take place at the Galt House Hotel in Louisville, Kentucky, on November 7–10, 2019, Thursday through Sunday.

At the close of the Association's eighty-fourth meeting in Birmingham, Alabama, on November 11, 2018, William A. Link, University of Florida, began his term as president. Given that there were no additional nominations, those proposed by the 2017 Nominating Committee and published in the May 2018 issue of the Journal were declared elected:

Vice President/President-Elect:

Thavolia Glymph, Duke University

Executive Council:

Emily Bingham, University of Louisville

Crystal N. Feimster, Yale University

Daniel H. Usner, Vanderbilt University

The Executive Council also approved the nominations of Jeff Forret, Lamar University, and Claire Strom, Rollins College, to four-year terms on the Board of Editors of the Journal of Southern History.

The council elected the following to serve as the 2019 Nominating Committee: Gaines M. Foster, Louisiana State University, chair; Kate Masur, Northwestern University; Adrienne Monteith Petty, College of William and Mary; Aaron Sheehan-Dean, Louisiana State University; and Christina Snyder, Penn State University.

The following awards were presented at the meeting in Birmingham:

Blassingame Award

The 2018 John W. Blassingame Award for distinguished scholarship and mentorship in African American history over a three-year period was awarded to Clayborne Carson, Stanford University. The selection committee consisted of Tera Hunter, Princeton University, chair; Raymond Arsenault, University of South Florida, St. Petersburg; and J. William Harris, University of New Hampshire.

Woodward Dissertation Prize

The C. Vann Woodward Dissertation Prize for the best dissertation in southern history completed in 2017 was awarded to Jason Hauser for his Mississippi State University dissertation, "By Degree: A History of Heat in the Subtropical American South." The selection committee consisted of Caroline E. Janney, Purdue University, chair; Greta de Jong, University of Nevada, Reno; and Calvin Schermerhorn, Arizona State University. [End Page 242]

Submissions for this year's Woodward Prize are invited. Dissertations in southern history completed and defended in 2018 are eligible for the annual prize. Application requirements can be found in the advertisement in this issue of the Journal or on the SHA website, Application materials, sent by email to, are due May 1, 2019. This year's prize committee consists of Peter Carmichael, Gettysburg College, chair; Bruce Baker, Newcastle University; and Sean Cunningham, Texas Tech University.

Sydnor Award

The Charles S. Sydnor Award, recognizing a distinguished book in southern history published in an odd-numbered year (2017), was presented to Julio Capo Jr., University of Massachusetts, Amherst, for his book, Welcome to Fairyland: Queer Miami Before 1940, published by University of North Carolina Press. The selection committee consisted of Connie L. Lester, University of Central Florida, chair; Charles Irons, Elon College; and Claire Strom, Rollins College.

Wall Award

The Bennett H. Wall Award, given for a distinguished book in southern business or economic history and published in 2016 or 2017, was presented to Keri Leigh Merritt of Atlanta, Georgia, for her book Masterless Men: Poor Whites and Slavery in the Antebellum South, published by Cambridge University Press in 2017. The selection committee consisted of Walter L. Buenger, Texas A&M University, chair; Reiko Hillyer, Lewis and Clark College; and R. Douglas Hurt, Purdue University.

Mitchell Award

The H. L. Mitchell Award, given for a distinguished book in southern labor history and published in 2016 or 2017, was awarded to Rashauna Johnson, Dartmouth College, for her book Slavery's Metropolis: Unfree Labor in New Orleans during the Age of Revolutions, published by Cambridge University Press in 2016. The selection committee consisted of Michael K. Honey, University of Washington, Tacoma, chair; LaGuana Gray, University of Texas, San Antonio; and Robert S. Shelton, Cleveland State University.

Green-Ramsdell Award

The Fletcher M. Green and Charles W. Ramsdell Award for the best article published in the Journal of Southern History over a two-year period was awarded to Brandon Layton, University of California, Davis, for his article "Indian Country to Slave Country: The...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 242-244
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.