restricted access Eugene A. Forsey Prize: In Canadian Labour and Working-Class History
In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

Eugene A. Forsey Prize
In Canadian Labour and Working-Class History

The Canadian Committee on Labour History invites submissions for the Eugene A. Forsey Prize for graduate and undergraduate work on Canadian labour and working-class history.

Prizes are awarded annually for the best undergraduate essay, or the equivalent, and for the best graduate thesis completed in the past three years. The awards are determined by separate committees established by the executive of the cclh. In the spirit of the journal Labour/Le Travail itself, the committees interpret the definition of Canadian labour and working-class history broadly.

Undergraduate essays may be nominated by course instructors, but nominators are limited to one essay per competition. Additionally, authors may submit their own work. Essays not written at a university or college may be considered for the undergraduate awards.

For the graduate prize, supervisors may nominate one thesis per competition or an author of a thesis may submit a copy. Submissions of both MA and PhD theses are welcome. Theses defended on or after 1 May 2010 are eligible for consideration in the current competition.

The Prize is supported by an anonymous donor. With the consent of the late Dr. Forsey’s family, the cclh chose to name the Prize in his honour because of his pioneering work in the field of Canadian labour history. Dr. Forsey was Research Director of the Canadian Congress of Labour and later the Canadian Labour Congress and also served on the committee which founded Labour/Le Travail.

The deadline for submissions in the current competition is 1 July 2013. Prizes will be announced in a forthcoming issue of Labour/Le Travail. Previous winners of the Prize are listed on the cclh website. To submit entries to the competition, four copies of essays and one copy of a thesis must be sent to Forsey Prize, Canadian Committee on Labour History, c/o Centre for State and Legal Studies, Athabasca University, 1 University Drive, Athabasca, AB T9S 3A3 Canada.

2012 Forsey Winners

Jacob Aaron Carliner Remes, “Cities of Comrades: Urban Disasters and the Formation of the North American Progressive State,” PhD thesis, Duke University, 2010.

Anna A. MacNeil, “ ‘Spirit in the Face of Decline’: The Formation of the Rise and Follies of Cape Breton Island, 1977–1985,” undergraduate thesis, Cape Breton University, 2012. [End Page 1]

Prix Eugene A. Forsey
En Histoire Canadienne Du Travail Et De La Classe Ouvrière

Le Comité canadien sur l’histoire du travail (ccht) sollicite des candidatures de la part des étudiants et des étudiantes des 1er, 2e et 3e cycles qui oeuvrent dans le domaine de l’histoire canadienne du travail et de la classe ouvrière.

Deux prix sont accordés annuellement : un prix pour la meilleure thèse ou le meilleur mémoire rédigé au cours des trois dernières années, ainsi qu’un prix pour le meilleur travail rédigé dans l’année par un étudiant ou une étudiante de 1er cycle. Deux comités distincts, mis en place par l’exécutif du ccht, procéderont à la sélection des lauréats et des lauréates. À l’instar des membres de la rédaction de Labour/Le Travail, les comités responsables de l’octroi du Prix définissent l’histoire canadienne du travail et de la classe ouvrière de façon large.

Les professeurs peuvent recommander des travaux d’étudiants et d’étudiantes du 1er cycle, mais ils doivent se limiter à une seule présentation par concours. Les auteurs peuvent soumettre eux-mêmes leur travail. Pour le prix attribué aux étudiants et aux étudiantes du 1er cycle, les travaux réalisés hors de l’université ou du collège sont admissibles.

En ce qui concerne le prix décerné aux étudiants et aux étudiantes des 2e et 3e cycles, les professeurs ne peuvent proposer qu’une thèse ou un mémoire par concours, et les auteurs peuvent soumettre leur candidature eux-mêmes. Les thèses et les mémoires soutenus à partir du 1er mai 2010 sont admissibles à la phase actuelle du concours.

Ce prix, dont l’attribution est rendue...