We cannot verify your location
Browse Book and Journal Content on Project MUSE
The Nameless Pioneer: James Salter's 'Akhnilo"

From: Ecotone
Volume 6, Number 1, Fall 2010
pp. 148-155 | 10.1353/ect.2010.0010

In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

The Nameless Pioneer:
James Salter's 'Akhnilo"
James Salter

James Salter, a five-time winner of the O. Henry Prize, is an American novelist, memoirist, and short-story writer. He was born in New York City, in 1925, and served for twelve years as a U.S. Army Air Force pilot in the Pacific, Europe, and Korea. Salter is the author of five novels, The Hunters (1957), The Arm of Flesh (1961), A Sport and a Pastime (1967), Light Years (1975), and Solo Faces (1979); two memoirs, Burning the Days (1997) and Gods of Tin (2004); and the collections Dusk and Other Stories, which won the 1989 PEN/Faulkner Award, and Last Night (2005). He divides his time between Aspen, Colorado, and Bridgehampton, Long Island.

Benjamin Percy

Benjamin Percy is the author of a novel, The Wilding, and two books of short fiction, Refresh, Refresh and The Language of Elk. He is a regular contributor to Esquire. His honors include a Whiting Award, the Plimpton Prize, and a Pushcart Prize. He teaches in the MFA program at Iowa State University.


Research Areas


  • You have access to this content
  • Free sample
  • Open Access
  • Restricted Access