In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

Southeastern Geographer Vol. XX, No. 1, May 1980, pp. 75-76 REVIEW OF THE THIRTY-FOURTH ANNUAL MEETING, NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE Neal G. Lineback The Thirty-fourth Annual Meeting of the Southeastern Division of the Association of American Geographers was held November 18-20, 1979, at the Opryland Hotel in Nashville, Tennessee. Austin Peay State University, Middle Tennessee State University, and Tennessee State University hosted the meeting; their faculty served on the Local Arrangements Committee chaired by John B. Ray. Sixty papers were presented by 79 authors and co-authors and seven student papers were given in competition for student honors awards. With 298 registrants, the 1979 meeting attendance was only slightly smaller than the previous year's gathering in Athens (Table 1). The opening session was presided over by President Sanford H. Bederman and greetings were heard from the City of Nashville and the three local university administrations. The Southern Studies Session (organized by N. Theodore Mealor, Jr.) followed with three papers by Louis DeVorsey, Jr.; Charles S. Aiken; and Z. Andrew Farkas and Clifton W. Pannell. Five other special sessions were offered: "The NCGE and the SEDAAG: Common Interests in Geographic Education" (arranged by James O. Wheeler), "Questions and Answers: AAG Committee on the Status of Women in Geography" (arranged by Nancy Erwin and David Lee), "Gamma ThĂȘta Upsilon Regional Organizational Meeting " (arranged by Eugene M. Wilson), "The USGS Land Use/Land Cover Maps and Data Base: Opportunities for Research and Applications" (arranged by Richard E. Witmer), and "Education for Applied Geographers " (arranged by Susan Moorlag). In addition, Robert Reiman directed a Seminar in Basic Grantsmanship and representatives of the Nashville Metropolitan Planning Commission sponsored and conducted field trips on the physical geography ofthe Nashville area and on historic and black neighborhoods of Nashville. During the Business Meeting, it was announced that Stephen S. Birdsall was elected President of the Division, Samuel T. Emory was Dr. Lineback is Professor of Geography at the University ofAlabama, Tuscaloosa , AL 35486. He served as Vice-President and as Program Chairman of the Division during 1979. 76Southeastern Geographer TABLE 1 SUMMARY OF SOUTHEASTERN DIVISION ANNUAL MEETINGS, 1965-1979 Number of Number Meeting Date LocationPapersRegistered 20th 1965 Chapel Hill, NC39157 21st 1966 Atlanta, GA62205 22nd 1967 Gainesville, FL61210 23rd 1968 Greenville, NC53208 24th 1969 Tallahassee, FL74262 25th 1970 Columbia, SC70255 26th 1971 Lexington, KY72295 27th 1972 Miami/Bahamas65343 28th 1973 Boone, NC55245 29th 1974 Biloxi, MS72300 30th 1975 Callaway Gardens, GA65400 31st 1976 Fredericksburg, VA75400 32nd 1977 Knoxville, TN61350 33rd 1978 Athens, GA ' 72310 34th 1979 Nashville, TN60298 Source: Southeastern Geographer. re-elected Treasurer, and Allen D. Bushong was selected as the new Editor of the Southeastern Geographer, replacing Sidney R. Jumper. The 1980 Honors Committee was elected (James S. Fisher, Chairperson; Charles S. Aiken; and Richard J. Kopec), as was the 1980 Nominating Committee (Wilma Walker, Chairperson; Thomas Boswell; and Malcolm Murray). Shannon McCune and James A. Shear were made Honorary Life Members of the Division. A Special Award for Contributions to Geography in the Southeast was awarded to J. Russell Whitaker. The meeting concluded with the Honors Luncheon and an address by John Fraser Hart, President of the Association of American Geographers , on "Land Use Change in a Piedmont County." Winners of the Student Honors Competition were Ann M. Maletic (University of South Carolina) at the Master's level and Francois J. Belisle (University of Georgia) at the Doctoral level. ...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 75-76
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.