restricted access Supportive and Rehabilitation Programs and Services
In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

Part III Supportive and Rehabilitation Programs and Services F F A.Federal Programs for the Deaf B.State Programs for the Deaf C.Independent Programs for the Deaf D.Social/Recreational Programs and Agencies E.Supportive Organizations and Agencies Federal Programs for the Deaf Office of Special Education and Rehabilitation Services Jean Tufts, Assistant Secretary Tel 202 245 8492 I. Rehabilitation Services Administration George A. Conn, Commissioner Tel 202 245 2201 II. National Institute of Handicapped Research Darld Long, Acting Director Tel 202 245 0565 III. Special Education Programs Ed Sontag, Acting Director U.S. Department of Education Room 4030, Donohoe Bldg. 400 Maryland Ave., S.W. Washington, D.C. 20202 Tel 202 245 9661 A.Division of Innovation and Development Thomas Behrens, Acting Director Tel 202 245 9815 Program Development Branch Max W. Mueller, Branch Chief Captioning andAdaptation Branch Malcolm J. Norwood, Branch Chief B.Division of Policy Analysis and Planning Shirley Jones, Acting Director Tel 202 245 2230 Policy Branch Branch Chief, Vacant Planning and Information System Branch Branch Chief, Vacant C.Division of Personnel Preparation Herman Saettler, Acting Director Tel 202 245 9886 Special Education Personnel Branch Josephine Taylor, Branch Chief Related Personnel Branch Norman Howe, Acting Branch Chief Leadership Personnel Branch Jim Hamilton, Acting Branch Chief D.Division of Education Services Martin Kaufman, Acting Director Tel 202 472 1494 Research Projects Branch Allen Dittmann, Branch Chief Technology and Marketing Branch Jim Johnson, Branch Chief E.Division of Assistance to States Thomas Irvin, Acting Director Tel 202 472 1653 Program Review Branch Dave Rostetter, Acting Branch Chief Program Assistance Branch Nancy Safer, Branch Chief Program Resources and Analysis Branch Ed Moore, Acting Branch Chief A.A.D. I April 1983 Federal Offices Outline 247 Division of Innovation and Development Special Education Programs U.S. Department of Education Thomas Behrens, Acting Director The Division of Innovation and Development is made up of two branches: 1) Captioning and Adaptation Branch; and 2) Program Development Branch. Captioning and Adaptation Branch (CFAB) The Captioning and Adaptation Branch is responsible for the development and maintenance of a loan service of captioned films for the deaf and for the dissemination of other media products to handicapped persons, to the parents of handicapped children, and to others involved in work for the advancement of the handicapped. Major distribution and dissemination activities for the Captioning and Adaptation Branch are managed by the Special Materials Project. Grant awards are made annually to encourage new educational media and technology developments for the handicapped. Malcolm J. Norwood, Chief Anne Sokol, Program Assistant/Interpreter Education Program Specialists: Ernest Hairston Joseph Rosenstein Sandra Hazen Hildred Speielli Program Development Branch (PDB) The Program Development Branch administers discretionary grants and contracts for model demonstration programs for preschool, elementary and secondary education for handicapped children, and for improving learning techniques for disabled children. The Branch manages the award process, monitors grant and contract progress, provides technical assistance, and disseminates significant findings and information. The responsibilities for the Branch are carried out by the Early Education, Elementary and Secondary Section, the Special Needs Section, and the Program Support Section. Max W. Mueller, Chief Mary Jane DeWeerd, Section Chief Education Program Specialists: William Swan Richard Champion Ronald Yoshida Carolyn Smith Steve Machalow Paul Thompson, Section Chief Jane Williams, Education Program Officer Kay Chase Patricia Hawkins Eileen Lehman Helene Corradino Edward Wilson Mailing Address Division of Innovation and Development, DONO 4046 Special Education and Rehabilitative Services U.S. Department of Education Washington, DC 20202 248 Division of Innovation and Development A.A. D. I April 1983 Rehabilitation Services Administration Personnel Department of Education 330 C Street, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20202 George A. Conn, Commissioner Wilmer S. Hunt, Acting Deputy Commissioner Boyce R. Williams, Chief, Deafness and Communicative Disorders Branch Frederick Winbeck, Associate Commissioner for Developmental Programs Frederick Sachs, Associate Commissioner for Program Operations Region I Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts , New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont Office of Rehab. Svcs., Dept. of Education , John F. Kennedy Fed. Bldg., Rm. 2011, Govnt. Ctr., Boston, MA 02203 Tel 617 223 6820 John Szufnarowski, Reg. Commissioner Anthony Ruscio, Splst. Dfness Region Il New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands Office of Rehab. Svcs., Dept. of Education , 26 Fed. Plaza...