In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • 1992 Margaret Church MFS Memorial Prize

The Editors of MFS are pleased to announce the winner of the ninth Margaret Church Memorial Prize. Richard Begam's "Splitting the Differance: Beckett, Derrida and the Unnamable" which appeared in the 1992 Winter issue (Vol. 38, Number 4, 873-892) was judged the best essay of the year published in MFS. Professor Begam received $250 and a copy of the award appearing opposite.

The outside panel of judges making the selection was composed of Clayton Koelb (chair), Professor of German and Comparative Literature, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Annis Pratt, Professor of English (retired), University Wisconsin, Madison; and Paul B. Armstrong, Professor of English, University of Oregon.

The Editors of MFS congratulate Professor Begam, Assistant Professor of English at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. We are also grateful to the selection committee for the many hours they devoted to selecting this year's winner.

The Margaret Church MFS Memorial Prize was established in 1984 in memory of Dr. Church, Professor of English and Comparative Literature at Purdue University and a long time editor of this journal. She died in 1982. Winners of the annual prize will be announced in the Summer issue of each volume. [End Page 234]

Click for larger view
View full resolution

[End Page 235]



Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 234-235
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.