In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • The Margaret Church MFS Memorial Prize

Previous Winners:

Carl Freedman, "Antinomies of Nineteen Eighty-Four," Volume 30, Winter, 1984. Pp. 601-620.

Paul M. Hedeen, "A Symbolic Center in a Conceptual Country: A Gassian Rubric for The Sound and the Fury," Volume 31, Winter, 1985. Pp. 623-643.

Thomas C. Beattie, "Moments of Meaning Dearly Achieved: Virginia Woolf's Sense of an Ending," Volume 32, Winter, 1986. Pp. 521-541.

Ronald R. Thomas, "In the Company of Strangers: Absent Voices in Stevenson's Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Beckett's Company," Volume 32, Summer, 1986. Pp. 157-173.

Tom LeClair, "Deconstructing the Logos: Don DeLillo's End Zone," Volume 33, Spring, 1987. Pp. 105-123.

Liliane Weissberg, "Editing Adventures; Writing the Text of Julius Rodman," Volume 33, Autumn, 1987. Pp. 413-430.

Alan Nadel, "Reading the Body: Alice Walker's Meridian and the Archeology of the Self," Volume 34, Spring, 1988. Pp. 55-68.

The Editors of MFS are proud to announce the winner of the sixth Margaret Church MFS Memorial Prize. Margot Norris' "Stifled Back Answers: The Gender Politics of Art in Joyce's 'The Dead,'" which appeared in the Autumn issue (Vol 35, Number 3, 479-503), was judged the best article to appear in 1989. Professor Norris received $250 and a copy of the certificate appearing opposite.

The outside panel of judges making the selection was composed of Jerome Klinkowitz, Professor of English, University of Northern Iowa (chair); John Halperin, Centennial Professor of English, Vanderbilt University; and Linda Wagner-Martin, Professor of English, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

The Editors of MFS congratulate Professor Norris, who is Professor of English and of Comparative Literature at the University of California, Irvine. We are also grateful to the selection committee for the many hours they devoted to selecting this year's winner.

The Margaret Church MFS Memorial Prize was established in 1984 in memory of Ms. Church, Professor of English and of Comparative Literature here at Purdue University and long-time Co-Editor of this journal. She died in 1982. Winners of this annual prize will be announced in summer issues of MFS.

[End Page 146]

Click for larger view
View full resolution

[End Page 147]



Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 146-147
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.