In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Schools and Programs in the United States

Directory Listing

This listing provides directory information on U.S. schools and programs enrolling children who are deaf or hard of hearing. Under each state is an alphabetical listing by city of (1) schools (residential, day, center schools), (2) charter schools, (3) @lsth2:local programs, and (4) @lsth2:other types of facilities. Programs listed include only those that returned the American Annals of the Deaf 2006 Reference Issue Program Questionnaire. To update or add a program listing, contact Sue Hotto at the Gallaudet Research Institute, 800 Florida Avenue NE, Washington, DC 20002, 1-800-451-8834 ext 5575/5907 (v/tty) or send an email to Sue.Hotto@gallaudet.edu.

Alabama

Special Schools or Centers

Alabama Institute for the Deaf and the Blind [AIDB]
205 South Street East, P.O. Box 698
Talladega, AL 35161-0698
phone: 256-761-3200 [v/tty]
fax: 256-761-3344
President: Terry Graham, Ed.D.
email: graham.terry@aidb.state.al.us
web: www.aidb.org
Vice President: Frieda Meacham, Ph.D.
phone: 256-761-3331 [v/tty]
fax: 256-761-3520
email: meacham.frieda@aidb.state.al.us

Regional Centers and Special Schools or Centers under the Alabama Institute for the Deaf and the Blind:

Regional Centers: Day Only

AIDB-Field Services
Director: Charlot Ritenbaugh
phone: 334-887-3880 [v/tty]
fax: 334-821-4022
email: ritenbaugh.charlot@aidb.state.al.us

AIDB-Auburn Regional Center
660-A North College Street
Auburn, AL 36830
Director: Charlot Ritenbaugh
phone: 334-887-3880 [v/tty]
fax: 334-821-4022
email: ritenbaugh.charlot@aidb.state.al.us

AIDB-Birmingham Regional Center
220 34th Street, South
Birmingham, AL 35222
Director: Jan McGee
phone: 205-328-3989 [v/tty]
fax: 205-323-3691
email: mcgee.jan@aidb.state.al.us

AIDB-Dothan Regional Center
111 Medical Drive
Dothan, AL 36303
Director: Ricky Holman
phone: 334-677-6270 [v/tty]
fax: 334-793-7044
email: holman.ricky@aidb.state.al.us

AIDB-Huntsville Regional Center
600 St. Clair Avenue, Bldg. 2
Huntsville, AL 35801
Director: Karla Smith
phone: 256-539-7881 [v/tty]
fax: 256-532-0942
email: smith.karla@aidb.state.al.us

AIDB-Mobile Regional Center
1050 Government Street
Mobile, AL 36604
Director: Michelle F. Jones
phone: 251-432-7777
fax: 251-432-3199
email: jones.michelle@aidb.state.al.us

AIDB-Montgomery Regional Center
2629-B Eastern Boulevard
Montgomery, AL 36117
Director: Ricky Holman
phone: 334-273-9200 [v/tty]
fax: 334-273-9400
email: holman.ricky@aidb.state.al.us

AIDB-Talladega Regional Center
412 Cherry Street
Talladega, AL 35160
Director: Joan Ridgway
phone: 256-761-3370 [v/tty]
fax: 256-761-3693
email: ridgway.joan@aidb.state.al.us

AIDB-Tuscaloosa Regional Center
701 22nd Avenue
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
phone: 205-345-2883 [v/tty]
fax: 205-345-4883
Director: Jan McGee
email: mcgee.jan@aidb.state.al.us [End Page 130]

AIDB-Shoals Regional Center
512 N. Main Street
Tuscumbia, AL 35674
Director: Glenda Cain
phone: 256-383-3503 [v/tty]
fax: 256-383-3562
email: cain.glenda@aidb.state.al.us

Special Schools or Centers

Residential/Boarding & Day

Alabama School for the Deaf
Principal: Pam C. Shaw, Ph.D.
phone: 256-761-3214 [v/tty]
fax: 256-761-3278
email: shaw.pam@aidb.state.al.us

Alabama School for the Blind
Principal: Carl Ponder, Ed.D.
phone: 256-761-3259
fax: 256-761-3362
email: ponder.carl@aidb.state.al.us

Helen Keller School of Alabama
Principal: Dr. Erminel Love-Trescott
phone: 256-761-3251[v/tty]
fax: 256-761-3377
email: Love-Trescott.Erminel@aidb.state.al.us

EH Gentry Tech Facility
P.O. Box 698
Talladega, AL 35161
phone: 256-761-3401 [v/tty]
fax: 256-761-3450
toll free: 888-774-2335 ext 401
Executive Director: John Mascia, Ph.D.
email: mascia.john@aidb.state.al.us

Special/Local Programs

Day Only

Preschool Ctr for the Sensory Impaired
1050 Government Street
Mobile, AL 36604
phone: 251-433-1234 [v/tty]
fax: 251-432-3199
Executive Director: Michelle Jones
email: jones.michelle@aidb.state.al.us

S.W. Alabama Regional School (Mobile Co)
3980 Burma Road
Mobile, AL 36693
phone: 251-221-5454...

pdf

Additional Information

ISSN
1543-0375
Print ISSN
0002-726X
Pages
pp. 130-224
Launched on MUSE
2006-08-18
Open Access
No
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.